Iphone find friends app notify me
Find My Friends currently supports both iPhone and Android phones. AnyTrans could help you transfer data like contacts, messages, photos, music from old iPhone to new iPhone. Now Android users also have access to this app. Just like any other apps, sometimes Find My Friends could go wrong and not work properly.
SEE VIDEO BY TOPIC: iOS Quick Tip: Find My Friends on iPhone & iPadContent:
- All about Find My Friends
- How to Fix Find My Friends Not Working
- Subscribe to RSS
- Set location notifications for friends in Find My on Mac
- Find Friends – Get Notifications, When Friends Leave Or Arrive
- Notifications when your shared location is updated
- Use the new Find My app to hunt down your friends and your iPhone
- Set location notifications for friends in Find My on iPad
All about Find My Friends
So theoretically YES , your friend could know you looked him up Ping , if he has the tools and knowhow. Some more technical stuff about it.. Officially, in an IP network, a ping is a network took that allows you to determine if a host is available on the network or not.
When somebody says ping a mobile on the network, what he really implies is to determine if where what cell it is connected to that mobile is in the network.
So, this can mean the mobile is trigger to do a forced location update LU. The mobile then reports itself into the network with its latest information. They don't get any notification or there isn't any log of lookup incidents made available to them. The location is sent from the friends device only when you request to see it. The location isn't transmitted on a regular interval.
Do note that your friend s can choose to stop sharing their location at any time and can also choose to share their location using the device of their choice e. This may differ from their current physical location.
Your location is sent from your device only when someone requests to see it. Your location isn't transmitted on a regular interval. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Home Questions Tags Users Unanswered. Asked 1 year, 7 months ago. Active 1 year, 6 months ago. Viewed k times. I am sharing my location with some friends using Apple's Find My Friend service. Ivanov 2, 7 7 gold badges 22 22 silver badges 50 50 bronze badges.
Active Oldest Votes. Once your friends phone receives the Ping request it will reply to you with the location data. Ruskes Ruskes The system Apple uses to ask a device to report its location is conceptually similar to the "ping" low-level network mechanism however it is extremely unlikely that any such ping is actually performed.
This information is irrelevant. A couple more important points to note from the article: You can follow up to friends. Nimesh Neema Nimesh Neema The Overflow Blog. The most successful developers share more than they take.
How to Fix Find My Friends Not Working
The Find Friends app is probably one of the apps, that you deleted right away, when Apple allowed to delete default apps for the first time. Although it has some real cool features — like notifications, when friends leave or arrive at a location. First you need the Apple app Find Friends for this trick.
Subscribe to RSS
When you are sharing your location with a friend, you can tap on that friend for additional options. Great for tracking each other down in an unfamiliar city! Notifications allows you to set up a location-based alert. For example, you can set Find My to send your friend a notification when you leave your current location — i. To see your connected devices in Find My , choose the Devices page. However, you can also activate this feature from the Settings app. Launch Settings and choose the Apple ID button at the top of the app.
Set location notifications for friends in Find My on Mac
Now, instead of two separate apps, they're combined into one convenient package. But what does that mean for you and your privacy and security? Overall, Apple has greatly improved iOS privacy and security in its latest mobile operating system. There are granular location data controls for apps, notifications when apps are using your location in the background, an option to remove geotags from photos you share, and a new way to sign in with apps and websites.
Find Friends – Get Notifications, When Friends Leave Or Arrive
Use the Find My app to let a friend know when your location changes. Under Notifications About You, you see a list of people who are notified when your location changes. To turn off a notification, tap the notification, tap Delete Notification, then tap Delete Notification again.SEE VIDEO BY TOPIC: How to Use Find My iPhone to Track Your Lost or Stolen iOS Device
The combined app, now called Apple Find My, has a new look but it works the same way it always has. So if you were to, Heaven forbid, lose your new iPhone 11 or iPhone 11 Pro , you could still track it down using your iCloud account. The new Find My app joins a healthy list of new features Apple added to iOS 13 and iPadOS , including dark mode , a swear-resistant gesture keyboard or is it? The People tab is where you'll find any of your contacts that were previously in the Find My Friends app, including anyone in your Apple Family Sharing group. A map takes up most of the screen, with a list of your contacts down below.
Notifications when your shared location is updated
Wednesday, October 16 , [ Tweets ] [ Favorites ]. Interesting: in Find My in iOS 13, the subject of a notification is told you set up a notification. In Find My Friends in the iOS 12 era, you could quietly notify yourself about a friend without them knowing. I could notify myself when she leaves her current location. The person being tracked has already consented and can revoke the permission whenever they want.
This ensures that the person you're sharing with gets an accurate, up-to-date sense of where you are. There are ways to make sure your location is updating in the background. This will make the notification appear less often. You can minimize this notification to make it less obtrusive. Next time you see the notification, long press it and choose Minimize.
Use the new Find My app to hunt down your friends and your iPhone
Although there are legitimate concerns about sharing your location willy-nilly, Find My Friends gives everyone full control over what they share, making it truly helpful for families and close friends. In their conversation, tap the i button, tap Share My Location, and in the popover that appears, tap Share Indefinitely. Share for One Hour and Share Until End of Day are useful for temporarily sharing your location while traveling, say, to visit colleagues with whom permanent sharing would be inappropriate.
Set location notifications for friends in Find My on iPad
It was replaced by the app Find My in The app allowed a person approved by the user, who also had to have an Apple device, to access the GPS location of the user's Apple mobile device. The app could be used to track children, family, and friends, besides others such as employees, without them being notified that they are being tracked. The app could also track the location of a person as a safety measure.
In the Find My app on your Mac, click People. In the People list, select a name, then click the Info button on the map. Choose whether you want your friend to be notified only once or every time your location changes. Tip: You can choose whether you want to receive location notifications from everyone or from only friends you share your location with—in the People list, select Me, click the Info button on the map, then click Receive Location Updates to choose an option.